top of page

Next Steps

Today, Joe and I met with our fertility doctor to discuss a procedure I am looking into getting to avoid more miscarriages. As it stands now, both of our genetic tests have come back perfect...my egg count is good, Joe's sperm count is good, we have no diseases, etc. There is literally no medical explanation for our recurrent miscarriages, except maybe for the septum I have in my uterus, which after our most recent loss, was said could also be bicornuate (heart-shaped), retroverted (backwards), or two separate uteruses. I guess regardless, it doesn't matter. It would just suck to pay for this procedure (to remove the septum) and then be told that nothing can actually be done. In July, I have an appointment at Johns Hopkins Ataxia Center to see if there is any relation between my Ataxia symptoms and the miscarriages. The woman who referred me (a genetic counselor at a high-risk OB's clinic) seemed doubtful that there is a connection, but wanted to get that cleared before we try again to conceive. The good news: Joe and I have no problems (fingers crossed!) conceiving, so there is no need to see a reproductive endocrinologist (i.e. the fertility doctor we've been seeing). We ruled out almost every condition that could be contributing to my miscarriages. We determined that both mine and Joe's genes are compatible. And we got a great referral to a highly rated gynecological surgeon in the area. The bad news: We still have 0 answers as to "why". The doctor said she knew nothing about Ataxia and couldn't be comfortable "getting you pregnant" [were we to return for fertility treatment] if it wasn't 100% safe for me and the baby. I completely understand where she was coming from, but it is really hard to hear that. I want to be a mother more than anything in the world and it would be devastating to find out that I could never safely carry a baby to term. I pray that that won't ever be the case. Now, it's off to call the OBGYN-surgeon and see what happens with that. Until next time... XO

bottom of page