top of page

Why I'm Not a Fan Of...

MLMs or multi-level marketing companies. It's not so much that I disagree with the products. I see value in some. I have bought some as recently as last month. What I don't agree with is the tactics that these companies' pawns (sales people, distributors, marketers, coaches, etc.) use at times to get people to become customers. Aside from the annoying ploys about income, staying home, fun cars, not getting to the point of what they do until they get you in person, etc., there's the preying on vulnerability. I get that all companies do this, as it is a great way to make money, but think about the top five well-known MLM companies right now:

1. doTerra (essential oils)

2. Younique (makeup)

3. Advocare (dietary supplements)

4. Young Living (essential oils)

5. Isagenix (dietary supplements & personal care products)

So, basically, these companies thrive on finding people who want to improve their health, increase the cleanliness of their home in a non-toxic way, be better parents/partners without having to change a whole lot of their routine to do so, and get thin REAL FAST. How about other MLMs? Without even looking, I can think of a few: Lula Roe, Monat, Pure Romance, Mary Kay, Tastefully Simple, Beach Body, Rodan & Fields, Arbonne, Tupperware, Pampered Chef, Thrive, It Works, etc. All of these prey on the same insecurities as the top 5.

The incredibly sad thing is that these sales people approach their prospects as though how they're living their life is wrong and the ONLY way to improve it is to buy these products and then become a distributor for them.

Would you believe me if I told you that the last four sales propositions I got were from companies who promote weight loss? I am 5'7" and 122 lbs. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to understand that I don't need to lose weight...AT ALL! The first time I was approached, I was offended and embarrassed. By the fourth time, I was just pissed. It was very clear that I was a dollar sign to these people and that is about it.

And the fact 3/4 of these propositions came within two weeks of my third miscarriage? Are you kidding me? Of course, I was depressed, of course I wasn't eating "right"...my baby just DIED. Give me some time to grieve before you start promoting the "lose the baby weight", "get healthy for the next time" BS. Or better yet, how about don't preach that crap in the first place?! I know your spiel...if I'm interested, I know who to go to. In the meantime, deal with your own business and leave me to deal with mine.

My last reason for not appreciating the sales tactics of MLM distributors results from this story: a friend approached me about selling for a company whose products she strongly believes in. I politely stated that I wasn't interested and my husband and I were working on our own goals that didn't require even more effort from another venture. That's when the financial freedom talk began: if I just became a distributor, I'd be able to pay off our debts, especially those related to our first and third miscarriages, and could move on with my life. It only takes a simple Google search to find that the median annual income of MLM sales people is $2,400. The median household income in the United States (in 2015) is $56,516. $46 a week is going to help me accomplish my financial goals? Ok... The point of this blog post isn't to crap on MLM companies. I think that some offer valuable products. I don't hate distributors. In fact, I have close friends and family members who do just that, and I love them and want them to be successful!

The point of this blog post was to explain how I've recently felt slighted by MLMs and why I don't appreciate that. In this case, I think it's a matter of hating the game, not the player. Many people are taught an antiquated, grossly generalized way of selling and expect to win that way. Word of advice: think of who you're talking to and tailor your approach to them personally, rather than assuming that every individual will fit into your companies' one-size-fits-all sales pitch. Until next time, xoxo!

bottom of page